NAICOM retires more Directors

The Director, National Insurance Commission (NAICOM), Inspectorate Directorate, Pius Agboola, and his Administration and Human Resources counterpart, Habila Amos, have retired.

Recently, the commission’s Director, Finance and Accounts (DFA), Barineka Thompson, also retired in line with the Federal Government’s new tenure policy.

Agboola and Amos were served their compulsory retirement letters recently by NAICOM, along with Thompson, in line with the recent Public Service Circular on eight-year tenure for Federal directors.

The Head of Service of the Federation, Folashade Yemi-Esan, while unveiling the revised public service rules during the civil service rule, had said tenure policy –2021 Revised Edition’ of Public Service Rule (PSR), which took effect from July 27, 2023, stated that Directors (SGL 17), who have spent eight years and above on a post are directed to submit their notice of retirement in line with Section 020909 of the revised PSR.

Yemi-Esan added that with the policy, about 512 directors in the civil service who have spent eight years on the directorate cadre might be forced out of the service.

The PSR, which was launched by the Office of Head of Civil Service of the Federation on July 28, this year, in Abuja, also introduced a tenure policy for permanent secretaries who are required to spend four years in office which is renewable subject to performance.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *